News & Announcements

2022 DHS Award Winners

May 6, 2022

May 5, 2022

The Department of Health Sciences is pleased to announce the 2022 award recipients! Winners are acknowledged for their achievements, character and commitment in DHS.

Lexie Chirpich

Academic Achievement Award: Lexie Chirpich

The recipient of this award demonstrates academic excellence in all aspects of the Health Sciences curriculum, including grades, classroom participation, research involvement and/or lab work. The recipient takes full advantage of educational experiences in class, on campus and beyond.
The award is available to students who meet the following criteria:
• Senior standing
• GPA of 3.75 or higher
• Proven record of curricular involvement within the classroom and beyond
Lexie Chirpich’s post-grad plans: “I will be attending Mizzou’s physical therapy graduate program this upcoming summer. I am beyond excited for this new journey!”

Abby Tampow

Intern of the Year award: Abby Tampow

The recipient of this award demonstrates a strong commitment to professional development as a student intern enrolled in Health Sciences 4975. The recipient is open to feedback, promotes a positive work environment, and seeks opportunities for growth while advancing the organization’s mission.
The award is available to students who meet the following criteria:
• Senior standing
• GPA of 2.75 or higher
Abby Tampow’s post-grad plans: “I will be moving back to St. Louis, Missouri to work at Sensient Technologies Corporation, a Food Science Company.”

Eyob Teklesenbet

Spirit of Achievement Award: Eyob Teklesenbet

The recipient of this award demonstrates unwavering positivity toward the program and student(s) career goals. Additionally, the recipient has demonstrated a supportive attitude toward his/her/their peers and service to others within the program. This student is an outstanding representative of DHS, SHP and MU within the local and distant community.
The award is available to students who meet the following criteria:
• Senior standing
• GPA of 2.75 or higher
• Involved in activities that advance the reputation and standing of the department, school and university which may include: leadership, student activities, research, conferences, educational outreach or community service.
Eyob Teklesenbet’s post-grad plans: “When fall of 2022 begins, I will be starting my Masters of Health Administration here at Mizzou!”

Anna Broyles

Truman Award: Anna Broyles

The Truman Award recognizes a student who has demonstrated the strength of character and determination that is exemplary of a Missouri Tiger. The recipient of this award has successfully overcome obstacles while pursuing his/her/their education.
The award is available to students who meet the following criteria:
• Senior standing
• GPA of 2.75 or higher
Anna Broyles’ post-grad plans: “After graduation, I will continue seeking new opportunities and being open-minded in searching for the right professional position in the healthcare sector. I am hoping to land back in my home state of Colorado and look forward to seeing what the future holds.”

Mark Kuhnert, associate teaching professor, Health Sciences

Faculty Staff Award: Dr. Mark Kuhnert

This award recognizes an outstanding DHS faculty or staff member who has made a significant impact on students and the university through teaching, research, mentorship, service and/or professional development. This individual is committed to the department’s mission and seeks every opportunity to advance that mission among students and the academic community.
Dr. Kuhnert has an extensive record of excellence in teaching. His teaching philosophy is focused on creating an environment that enhances students’ innate desire and curiosity to learn. He challenges students to be intrinsically motivated life-long learners. Dr. Kuhnert has impacted the lives of numerous students during his tenure at MU. He has taught 156 course sections, instructing more than 6,017 students, and informally mentoring many others as they pursue careers in health professions.

Featured in this post

Default Headshot

Mark Kuhnert

Teaching Professor