News & Announcements

Department of Physical Therapy student awards

Aug. 18, 2020

Each year the Department of Physical Therapy selects students from the graduating class to receive awards named after Mizzou Physical Therapy faculty and alumni. Listed below is each award and the student recipients.

Judy Kleiboeker Frieders Award

Judy Kleiboeker graduated as a physical therapist from the University of Missouri in June 1968. She passed away on September 16, 1968. Judy was a scholar, related well to fellow classmates and patients, exhibited leadership qualities, and showed much promise of contributing to the field of Physical Therapy. This award is an honor and a challenge to the student who receives it. The recipient is selected by classmates.

Recipient: Kaitlin Stump

Gerald W. Browning Award

Dr. Browning was director of the physical therapy program from 1973 to 1993, and was a faculty member for 34 years.
This award is presented to a graduating senior who demonstrates the qualities which characterize Dr. Browning: scholarship, love of people, commitment to education, skill with language, positive attitude, enthusiasm, cheerfulness, and dedication to the profession.

Recipients: Mary Klarsch, Katee Hinkle and Abbey Verslues

Marilyn K. Sanford Award

Dr. Sanford, a member of the first MU PT Class of 1965, directed the physical therapy program from 1993 to 2002.
This award is presented to a graduating PT student who exemplifies Dr. Sanford’s dedication to scholarly activity, clinical excellence and a strong willingness to serve the profession and the community.

Recipients: Alyssa Leonard, Colin Salander, and Audrey Kamper

Roger S. Williams Clinical Excellence Award

Mr. Williams received physical therapy services following a stroke. Mr. Williams established this award to recognize the therapists who worked with him. He believed their professional skills and warm personal qualities were instrumental in helping him realize his highest capabilities.
The Roger S. Williams Award is a tribute to a student who has exhibited these qualities in the clinical setting.

Recipients: Courtney Heberlie and Mariah Cairer

Congratulations to all our recipients on all your hard work and dedication to the physical therapy program.